Spellbound by Fellini

Ba ba ba ba-da… Ba ba ba ba-da…  This is the tune that has been in my head for the past week.  It’s “The Barber of Seville” by Gioachino Rossini.  As a child, this was made most memorable by Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd.  If you haven’t seen it, you must have been raised under a rock.  You should watch it now.

That Bugs seriously gets me every time.

Well, I just recently watch Fellini’s 8 ½ for the first time.  I know, I know, where have I been?  La Dolce Vita, which Fellini made three years prior to 8 ½, is on the list of my top five favorite films.  I love, love, love La Dolce Vita.  I’ve just always been so enamored with La Dolce Vita, that I never got around to seeing 8 ½. And now… 8 ½ is vying for a spot on the list. Seriously, amazing. 

Anyways, 8 ½ … on the very basic level, is about a director trying to make a movie.  He’s flooded with producers, actors, writers and women stifling his creativity.  Guido (Marcello Mastroianni) is experiencing a creative block that keeps bringing him in and out of reality, back and forth between flashbacks and the present.  It’s smart and funny and the whole time it’s making me realize I need to get off my arse and do something.

It’s been exactly three months since I’ve written anything here.  No new developments.  I don’t have Italian citizenship yet. I’m still not fluent in Italian.  And no planned trips abroad.

There’s a flashback scene in 8 ½ when Guido was a small child.  Just before bed his brother and him whisper the words, ‘Asa Nisi Masa.’  They say it’s a spell meant to bring the pictures to life after dark.  It’s sort of like Pig Latin or Gibberish.  Little Italian kids would take words, separate by syllables and add the letters ‘sa,’ ‘si’ and ‘sa’ after alternating syllables.  Thus breaking down the spell, it comes down to ‘anima’ which literally means spirit or life force and has references to the female spirit.

Just as Guido in both his flashback and in the present is trying to bring pictures to life, I feel a sort of push to get moving. Nino Rota’s incorporation of the classic “Barber of Seville” into the score has infected me.  Ba ba ba ba-da… Ba ba ba ba-da… I seriously cannot stop.

I’m hoping this musical infection of sorts, this Fellini spell, will kick me into gear to make things happen.  Finish up the paperwork for the application, study Italian on a regular basis, watch more Italian films, experiment more with cooking and finally sit down and write.

This is my plan. We’ll see how it goes.

1 Comment

Filed under About, Dual Citizenship, Italian Film

One response to “Spellbound by Fellini

  1. I like this plan. Mmm, especially if we cook more Italian food together. I have a confession to make: I’ve never seen a Fellini film. I know, I’m sorry! Can we still be friends? Netflix to the rescue. I need to make more time in my life for foreign films and foreign language in general. Bon courage (or whatever it is in Italian) on the citizenship journey!

Leave a Reply

