Useful Phrases of the Week

Currently, I can get by okay with my conversational Italian. Though I do plan on becoming fluent. When I visited Italy last fall, I had the amazing experience of quasi-full immersion. So much that I started dreaming in Italian. Now that can get weird when you didn’t realize you could say the things you said in your dreams.

Well, here is my effort at expanding my knowledge of Italian. Some useful phrases to help you/me along the way. There must be an occasion to say these. Especially the first one.

Il mio aeroscivolante è pieno di anguille.

  • My hovercraft is full of eels.

Chi più sa, meno crede.

  • The more one knows, the less one believes.

Finchè c’è vita, c’è speranza.

  • Where there’s life, there’s hope.

Meglio un giorno da leone che cento da pecora.

  • Better one day as a lion than a hundred as a sheep.

Gradisco voi di più e più.
  • I like you more and more
2 Comments

Filed under Learn Italian

2 responses to “Useful Phrases of the Week

  1. The hovercraft one is gold. I am totally using that the next time I’m in an Italian bar. Especially if you or Nay Nay is there.

    What happened to your favorite Italian phrase (you know, the one that is totally inappropriate to post)?

  2. Kathleen

    It’s true I do have some favorites…but gotta keep it PG, Gill. Can’t be too scandalous.

Leave a Reply

