Plan C

So, not checking your mail for several days can have its toll. Last week apparently, I received a letter from the Archdiocese of Galveston and Houston.

I am writing in response to your request for the marriage record of Liborio Marcello and Anna Liggio. I have checked the records of the Houston and Galveston parishes, but I find no record of their marriage between 1899 and 1901. If Anna Liggio was living in Dickinson, it is possible that a priest from Galveston traveled out to that area to witness the marriage, but he never recorded it in the parish registers.

I am sorry that we cannot provide the record that you are seeking, but I hope that this information is helpful. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Plan B, which was to check with church archives instead of county archives, has failed. I have now formed Plan C: Start searching all counties in the surrounding areas. Or Plan D: Determine if Italy will accept them as a common law marriage. They’re pretty sticky about such things, so my guess is no.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dual Citizenship, Records Search

Leave a Reply

