When in Rome…

I’ve lapsed on my Italian lessons. No eels in my hovercraft this time, but at least if I’m in Rome, I can get that cute waiter to come out for the night. But heck, these phrases would work here too if people spoke Italian with me. Go ahead, tell me your secrets.

Paesi che vai, usanze che trovi.

  • The countries you visit, the customs you find. (When in Rome, do as the Romans do.)

Dimmi un segreto.

  • Tell me a secret.

Se non è vero, è ben trovato.

  • If it’s not true, it’s a good story.

Voglio vederti stasera.

  • I want to see you tonight.

Lontano dagli occhi, lontano dal cuore.

  • Far from the eyes, far from the heart. (Or out of sight, out of mind.)
1 Comment

Filed under Learn Italian

One response to “When in Rome…

Leave a Reply

