Italian at the Beehive

In my continued quest to further my Italians skillz, I’ve made a new friend to help me practice speaking.  So my new conversation buddy Federico happens to not only be Italian, but more importantly he’s Sicilian like my forefathers… he even shared my love of traditional Sicilian arancini (which those northern Italians don’t make nearly as good as the Sicilians, no offense intended).

While our first conversation adventure was a little iffy on my part (I kind of need a lot of work), I think it went quite well! Next plan is to have friends studying Italian everywhere, that way I can practice with basically everyone.  But more importantly this will lead to my ultimate goal of having all my friends/family move with me to Italy.

I learned many things this weekend…

  1. Lulu’s Beehive in Studio City is amazing.  Cool name, free wi-fi, good coffee, and possibly good food too.  I can’t vouch for the food, but the fellow next to us had a sandwich that looked pretty good. And word is they have live music at night.
  2. The best way to learn a foreign language is to watch movies or television in that language with closed captioning (not English subtitles).  Federico is apparently going to lend me his Italian copy of High Fidelity. John Cusack è il mio favorito... sigh.
  3. Briscola is a grandma’s game, and if you are under the age of 60, you are a joke.
  4. My grandmother was a Briscola card shark when she was a small child.  Grandmothers everywhere feared that little Bert DiGiglia would hustle them for everything they had… or at least their next batch of cookies.

Ho ascoltato musica pop perché ero misero? O ero misero perché ho ascoltato musica pop?

Translation:  Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?

1 Comment

Filed under Learn Italian

One response to “Italian at the Beehive

  1. John Cusack in italiano?! Could life get any better? I think not. Unless it’s John Cusack in “Say Anything.”

    It’s awesome you have a language partner. I did that briefly in SF, and I really want to again!

Leave a Reply

