Buon Natale!

On this 25th day of December, I wish you a happy Christmas. For this great holiday a dear friend of mine gave me a wonderful addition to my library, so I now bring you a couple of little known facts courtesy of David Hoffman’s Italy: Little Known Facts about Well Known Places.

  • During the period from December 27 to December 31, Roman shops are filled with red underwear of all sorts. Apparently Italian tradition says that wearing red underwear on New Year’s Eve and throwing it out the next day will insure good luck in the coming year.

Not sure about you, but this sounds like much more fun than eating cabbage and black eyed peas. Sounds like a trip to the mall may be in order.

And not to do with Christmas, but completely unknown to me until now:

  • The pope’s official bodyguards are Swiss citizens, between 19 and 30 yrs old. They are at least 5’10” AND unmarried when they start the gig. AND regardless of age they must remain single for the first three years of duty, and if they are under twenty-one, they must stay single until at least twenty-five.

I’m not sure what the logic is, but there you go. That’s it for now. So I’ll leave you with one last Christmas wish and a weird music video to one of my all time favorite Christmas songs:

4 Comments

Filed under Randomness about Italy

4 responses to “Buon Natale!

  1. Ide

    That video made my Christmas. I heart you!

  2. I don’t know how I lived without knowing about the Italian Christmas Donkey. I think watching this video will be a cherished tradition from now on.

  3. dsharona

    I cannot believe there is a video to go along with one of my all time favorite Christmas songs. You always know how to bring the most fabulous things into my life!

Leave a Reply

